Elena’s Spiced Rice Pudding

Today the weather in NYC felt more like spring than the usual February winters I’m used too. It’s days like this that I crave the sun and sandy beaches of my beautiful Puerto Rico island. I daydream all day about sand between my feet and my abuelita shouting “mira muchacha, ponte chancletas” as she would always run behind my cousins and I with our sandals in her hands forcing us to put them on. (makes me laugh just thinking of that)

After we got home and out of the shower abuela would always greet us with this yummy mushy rice with delicious hints of maple and cinnamon. That was our favorite treat. 🙂 WAIT! Besides “Limbers De Coco” oh I miss those days.

Thankfully I memorized my grandmas recipe and made some adjustments here and there.

Please enjoy this recipe that now as an adult I chase with a nice warm shot of Amaretto Liqueur

Elena's Spiced Rice Pudding

Go get all your ingredients together…

Rice

 

Elena’s Spiced Rice Pudding – Serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups COOKED Rice – make sure it is room temp.
  • 3 cups 2% Milk
  • 1/4 cup Sugar
  • 1/8 tsp Vanilla Beans (see below)
  • 2 Cinnamon Sticks
  • 1 Egg Yolk
  • 1/4 cup Light Brown Sugar
  • 1/8 tsp Fresh Ground Nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp Cinnamon Powder
  • The seeds of 2 Cardamom Pods (seeds grounded)
  • 1/2 tsp Maple Flakes (or 1 tbls maple syrup)
  • 1/4 tsp Granulated Honey
  • 3/4 cup Light Heavy Cream

Step 1 – In a med saucepan stir together the rice, milk, sugar, vanilla beans & cinnamon. Bring to a quick boil. Lower heat to low and let simmer for 30 minutes. Stir occasionally so the bottom doesn’t burn.

Step1

Step 2 – after 30 min your rice should look like the picture below. Remove from heat and let cool.

Step 3 – In a separate bowl mix together the egg yolk, brown sugar, nutmeg, cinnamon powder, cardamom seeds, maple flakes & honey.

Mix until creamy. See below

Step 4 – Add the heavy cream to the egg mix and whisk

Step 5 – Add egg mixture to the cooled rice mixture, stir and cook for another 30 minutes.

Step 6 – Let cool and refrigerate for up to 2 hours.

Serve and enjoy with your favorite sweet liquor

Elena's Spiced Rice Pudding

Feel free to print out the recipe! And don’t forget to leave a comment in the comment box. I would love to get some feedback! Buen Provecho!!!!

Comments

  1. Aww, this looks sooo yummy. Nice warming dessert, wait….no, I’ll have this for dinner! 🙂

  2. I love rice pudding 🙂 In Germany, I grew up with it being served just with cinnamon sugar, but nutmeg and cardamom sounds like a fabulous addition 🙂 Great recipe!

  3. It’s just my luck that my first visit to your blog is one of my all-time favorite desserts! Can’t wait to make this rice pudding at home.

  4. bananamondaes says:

    This looks absolutely delicious. Those spices are great. I’ve never done this to a rice pudding. Must try.

  5. claudia1806@gmail.com says:

    Your blog is wonderful, your photos are beautiful and I can’t wait to try your recipes! Congratulations!

  6. amazing article, this is the best article i have read so far

Trackbacks

  1. Homepage says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Find More Informations here: theposhlatincook.com/2012/02/02/elenas-spiced-rice-pudding/ […]…

Leave a comment